top of page

Francisco Park

San Francisco, CA

In 1859, the Francisco Reservoir was constructed. Located on Russian Hill, it was the first large reservoir to be built in San Francisco to accommodate the rapid growth and development of the city, as a result of the gold rush. In 1940, the Reservoir was obsoleted with the opening of Lombard Reservoir, which is now covered by tennis courts and Sterling Park. From 1947 to 1958, groups were at odds with plans for the property. Recreation and Park Development sent a letter to the Mayor explaining why the entire property is necessary to “provide adequate recreation and park services for this densely populated district,” while developers were presenting plans for two story apartment towers and 3 levels of garage. All efforts to turn this land into a commercial development were met with overwhelming resistance from the community. In 2008, the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) appeared before the Board of Supervisors to confirm plans to develop the Reservoir, however the Board of Supervisors passed Resolution 502.08, reaffirming the reservoirs status as open space. In 2014, San Francisco Recreation and Park Development acquired the 4.2 acres from the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission. 


Breaking ground in summer 2019, the City has given the community a unique opportunity to transform this site into a stunning park with expansive, commanding Bay views. MCK is serving as the Project Manager to the Francisco Park Conservancy for the $25 Million dollar park located on the Francisco Reservoir. Conceptual Design plans include a dog run, picnic area, community garden and a children’s playground.